Being United Makes All The Difference

Welcome to United Fresh 

Renew Membership

Retail Produce Manager Awards Program

White brickwall surface


The 2017 Retail Produce Manager Awards Program

Honoring the Best of the Produce Industry’s Front Line 

The United Fresh Retail Produce Manager Awards Program pays special recognition to produce managers on the front lines in supermarkets working every day to increase sales and consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables.

United Fresh Produce Association will honor 25 of the industry’s top retail produce managers for their commitment to fresh produce, innovative merchandising, community service and customer satisfaction.

Nominate a Produce Manager today!  All nominations are due by January 6, 2017.

2017 Nomination Form

Why Should You Participate?

This program serves to honor produce managers who are making a difference and setting the standards of excellence in the produce department.

  • You’re saying to the produce industry, “This person is your advocate! Let’s recognize them for the excellent work they do.” 
  • You’re offering exceptional managers an opportunity to further their industry knowledge. 
  • Provide an incredible experience for your produce managers to engage with retail and produce leaders and learn about the newest products at the United Fresh convention.
  • Raise the bar within your own company and have your banner recognized as an industry leader.

Nominate A Produce Manager


How To Nominate a Produce Manager

  • Submit a nomination form.
  • Nominations must be approved by the Retail Produce Director (or designated corporate representative).

Read Nomination Guidelines, Best Practices & FAQs

Selection Criteria

Winners are selected by a team of produce marketing experts, based on the following:

  • Innovative Merchandising, Special Displays and Sampling Programs;
  • Produce-Related Community Service or Outreach;
  • Recognition Within Their Company; and,
  • Commitment to Customer Satisfaction and Promoting Fresh Produce.


  • Companies may nominate multiple produce managers.
  • Past winners are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be employed as a retail produce manager.
  • The winning manager must be accompanied to the convention by a corporate produce executive.

The 25 winning Produce Manager AND their Corporate Produce Directors will receive:

  • Complimentary roundtrip airfare and registration to United Fresh 2017;
  • Two nights of hotel accommodations;
  • Commemorative Plaque; and,
  • Recognition on stage at the Retail-Foodservice Celebration Dinner.

And, five Grand Prize Winners will receive $1,000!

2016 Award Winners

Amy AllmanThe Kroger CompanyAthens, GA
Tricia ArceneauxFrank’s SupermarketsGolden Meadow, LA
Ryan BlancasBeale AFB CommissaryMarysville, CA
Jeffery BonacquistiMarket 32/Price ChopperPittsfield, MA
James CorcoranShopRiteCarteret, NJ
Ted ElliottTops Friendly MarketsWarsaw, NY
Mark GarciaThe Common MarketFrederick, MD
Michael GibersonNiemann Foods, Inc.Champaign, IL
Dan HansonHy-Vee, Inc.Mankato, MN
James HowardFood City/K-VA-T Food StoresPikeville, KY
Denise KellySobeysCharlottetown, PEI, Canada
Amy LincolnCoborn’sRamsey, MN
Ken MillerSave MartPlacerville, CA
Brice MollohanHarris Teeter SupermarketsMathews, NC
Jason NorvielSchnucks MarketsDes Peres, MO
Steve ParkerRaley’s Family of Fine StoresReno, NV
Henry PorterVashon ThriftwayVashon, WA
Jennifer RatkiewiczBig Y Foods, Inc.Springfield, MA
Lely ReyesAlbertsons CompaniesMcLean, VA
Ronnie ShowersRoundy’s SupermarketsSun Prairie, WI
Skyler SmithMarc’s StoresN. Canton, OH
Gary StandingLoblaw Companies, Ltd.North Sydney, NS, Canada
Lucilo TorresNorthgate González MarketsLong Beach, CA
Brett WalkerBrookshire Grocery CompanyPittsburg, TX
Keith ZielonkaFood LionMorrisville, NC

Previous Winning Banners2005-2016

Since 2005, nearly 300 produce managers have been honored from more than 90 retail banners. These produce managers represent the BEST of the BEST in our industry. 

A & P
Albertsons Companies
Albrecht’s Sentry Foods
Al’s Supermarkets
Altus AFB Commissary
Andronico’s Community Markets
Artega’s Food Center
Ball Foods
Beale AFB Commissary
Bel Air Markets
Big Y Foods, Inc.
Bi-Lo Markets, LLC
BKT Sentry Foods
Blue Goose Market
Bristol Farms
Brookshire Grocery Company
Buy-Low Foods
Camp Pendleton Commissary
Chief Supermarket, Inc.
Clemens Family Markets
Coborn’s Inc.
Colemans Food Centres
The Common Market
Daniel’s Sentry Store
Dine’ Markets
Food City/K-VA-T Food Stores
Food Lion, LLC
Food Maxx
Food Pride
Frank’s Supermarkets
Ft. Bragg North Commissary
Ft. Worth NAS Commissary
Gelson’s Market
GFF Foods
Grocery Outlet
Hannaford Bros. Company
Harris Teeter Supermarkets
Hugo’s Family Marketplace
Hy-Vee, Inc.
Jewel Osco
King Soopers
King’s Food Markets
The Kroger Company
Lemoore NAS Commissary

Loblaw Companies, Ltd.
Los Angeles AFB Commissary 
Lucky’s Supermarkets
Luke AFB Commissary
Marc’s Stores
Market 32
Market Place
McClellan Comissary
Metcalfe’s Market
MOM’s Organic Market
New River MCAS Commissary
Niemann Foods Inc.
Nob Hill Foods
Northgate González Markets
Oak Point Fresh Market
Ord Community Commissary
Paul’s Food Pride
Payson Market Place
Pick’N Save
Price Chopper
Quality Food Centers
Raley’s Family of Fine Stores
Ray’s Food Place
River Valley Market
Roundy’s Supermarkets
Rouses Supermarkets
Rueben’s County Market
Safeway, Inc.
Save Mart
Schnucks Markets
Smith’s Food & Drug
Spartan Stores
Sunflower Farmers Market
Super 1 Foods
Tops Friendly Market
Travis Air Force Base Commissary
Vashon Thriftway
VG’s Foods
Wal-Mart Stores Inc.
Weis Markets, Inc.
Winn Dixie
Woods Supermarkets

See the Brochure

For questions about the Retail Produce Manager Awards Program, contact Jeff Oberman, Vice President, Trade Relations, at 831.600.8922.

Special thanks to our program sponsor: